Whatcha Reading? (and stuff)

It’s Sunday and the past week feels a bit like a fever dream. Granted, a bit of did involve fever, but mostly on the dream bit because I spent a lot of that time asleep. The awake time went into Day Job, commissions (two illustrations and a tattoo), and a bit of writing. Well, editing. Editing a short story before sending it out to magazines. Let’s see if someone wants to pick it up.

It’s about a harried marriage counselor caught in a storm who just wants to go home, but gets caught up in the relationship politics of the Greek pantheon and accidentally introduces them to modern marriage law. It’s pretty funny and the style of humor has slight British leanings. Would you guys read that?

Other than that, it’s been a lot of dealing with the aftermath of the 100 Days Project. Just yesterday, I scanned all of the pieces, having already sprayed fixatives for preservation. Now, it’s just storage and prepping for printing. There will be prints available to order soon on my Facebook page.

Also, somewhere in between, I need to get some pajama pants. My Spiderman ones are almost completely worn out.

All that aside and getting to the topic on hand and the one in the title, books! Now that the project is over and I actually have time to do things again, I’ve gotten back to reading and catching up on my Goodreads Reading Challenge. The whole reading one book at a time thing doesn’t really work for me anymore, so I’m currently reading Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe and The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler, after taking a break from Hellblazer (I read three volumes. The artwork is really good and also kinda gave me nightmares). And yesterday, I took a break to reread Matt Fraction’s Hawkeye.

I’m generally freakishly organized, but in this, I kinda suck.

Anyhoo, enough about me. What are you all reading? What’s new? What’s interesting? What would you recommend?

*Jaqen H’ghar voice* A girl seeks to expand her reading list.


15 thoughts on “Whatcha Reading? (and stuff)

  1. The Shadow of the Wind was the last book that I read, it’s pretty good! It’s set in early 20th century Barcelona. Also, British humour for the win!

  2. Me, Right now I am reading a book called Ransom. In my opinion, it’s a really good book. It’s a love inspired suspense book by Harlequin Romance. This Book Isn’t Smutty. I like mystery/suspense books. This book I must like because it’s the 4th time I’m reading it. Maybe I’ll do a review of some books I’ve read on one of my blogs. I have 2 blogs and they are: http://crystalsphotobloggingsite.wordpress.com and http://daisymae2017.wordpress.com

  3. I love British humor, it’s so delightfully wry. 😀 Also, I’ll look up The Shadow of the Wind! Right now, I just finished reading Fen, a short story collection by Daisy Johnson, and am tackling Shogun by James Clavell.

  4. I don’t mind the occasional bit of romance, but it’s not really my preferred genre. Mystery/suspense, however, is always a good idea. Unless it’s airport fiction.

  5. The ARC releases in October, I’ve already put up the review for it. Release was okay-ish. The Vegetarian was weird, fascinating, haunting (can think of a few more words to describe it), I’m putting up the review for it tomorrow (13th August).

Leave a Reply

