Ushering in the New Year

https://i2.wp.com/www.tajmahaltripindia.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/new-year.jpg

With pomp and glory and circumstance and a whole load of projects sitting on my back like the heavens and earth on dear old Atlas’s shoulders. Okay, maybe not that much, but still, it’s a pretty exciting list. I meant to put this out a lot earlier, but a bunch of other things got in the way, some of which are mentioned below.

So, what happened in 2014?

Writing-wise, this year was one of beginnings. I published my first novel. The Falcon’s Eye started out as a pet project when I was 15, before I even knew I could write anything that anyone would find worthwhile. Now, it’s published and has been getting 5 stars from everyone who has reviewed it. In addition to that, I rewrote an old short story that was a favorite of mine, and won NaNoWriMo for the second time. I tried my hand at something new and ended up creating a monster that is growing and growing like kudzu on steroids, and it’s not even half done. But it’s good, so though I might be a bit in over my head, I’m having a good time.

On a personal front, I graduated. University third, first class with distinction, thus throwing in a medal I completely did not expect. ‘Twas an evening of elation, reunions, and wearing those shoes my design professor used to tell me off for just to tick him off. So, now I’m officially an architect, qualified and registered. I also finished one year of work experience. Not as an architect, but as a UX designer for an education startup. I’m not yet in a position where I can afford to write full time and live off just that, so day job it is, but it’s wonderfully satisfying work and I get to make a load of difference.

And now, for 2015!

Well, brand new year, brave new world and all that jazz, but this year, I’m trying to line things up this time. So, things I’m working on this year:

– First off, a sequel to The Falcon’s Eye. To anyone who has read the book, yes, it is set up for a book two, and between work and life, I will be working on that. I’m already some 32000 words in, so it’s going strong.

– I’m also going further with the project I started during NaNoWriMo, a historical-steampunk-magical realism-action adventure…..thing. No, I’m not good at labels. I suck at defining genres. Also, considering that I’m going with a lot of multiculturalism with the characters, there is a looooooooot of research involved. But really, I haven’t had this much fun in ages.

– In addition to these, there’s a growing stack of sketches and story outlines in my computer, which I have to make something out of. Maybe write a few short stories in between. Possibly try new styles of storytelling. I especially want to try writing screenplays and comic scripts. I’m a decent artist, but will have to see how that goes. So, more learning and self-schooling this year.

– Maintain my notes/sketchbook better. Most of the time, if I get an idea, I write or draw it on the nearest piece of paper, and end up juggling between three or four notebooks. So yeah. Better organization, clearer head.

– Hopefully, do some reading. Real reading. As in get a book, push work and writing aside for a little while, and just read. I can’t believe how long it’s been since I’ve done that. I’ve got a long list, and it just keeps growing, like all things do.

– Keep in touch with all of you guys out there. šŸ™‚

– Eat.

– Sleep.

– Breathe.

At least, that’s the basic idea I’ve got so far. It’s not much, room for growth and all that, but it’s only just begun.

So, what are your goals for 2015?

 

 

 


2 thoughts on “Ushering in the New Year

  1. Looks like you had a very busy 2014. My goals for this year are to finish my book and to write in my blog consistently. Good luck with your goals in 2015!

Leave a Reply

